29 March 2022

Vilvoorde 29 March 2022On Sunday 3 April, it’s time for the crown jewel of the Flemish spring: the Tour of Flanders. The 106th edition of Flanders’ Finest will not only welcome back the fans, but also a high quality field of competitors. Will Asgreen win for the second year in a row or will top favourite Van Aert win his first Tour? They will be up against other top riders: former winner Van der Poel and none other than Tadej Pogacar.

The 106th Tour of Flanders starts in Antwerp at exactly 10:00. 272 kilometres, 18 climbs and 7 cobblestone sections later, the winner and successor to Asgreen will become known in Oudenaarde. The Dane will wear the number 1 jersey for Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl and will be looking for a second consecutive victory. He will be supported, among others, by Lampaert, Sénéchal and Stybar.

It doesn't promise to be an easy job, because man on form and top favourite Wout van Aert will also be starting. In the Jumbo-Visma team, as in the past races, we also find Laporte and Benoot. Alpecin-Fenix also fancy their chances because Mathieu van der Poel will be starting in Antwerp. The 2020 winner and the runner-up to Asgreen last year will be starting what is only his second race on Belgian soil, after Dwars door Vlaanderen, and he will be supported by Jasper Philipsen, among others.

Someone else, just like Van der Poel, who has chosen for the duo Dwars door Vlaanderen and Tour of Flanders, is two-time Tour winner Tadej Pogacar. He lines up at the start for UAE Team Emirates together with, among others, Trentin. More young talent is also on display for INEOS Grenadiers. The British formation is putting a strong team on the road: Pidcock, Kwiatkowski, Narvaez and van Baarle are all on the provisional start list.

Trek-Segafredo line up again with Stuyven and Pedersen, 2nd in 2018. For Bahrain-Victorious, the winner of Milan-San Remo, Mohoric is the front man, with Teuns in support. EF Education-Easypost call on Alberto Bettiol, winner in 2019. Another former winner can be found at Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Materieaux, with Alexander Kristoff. For TotalEnergies we have former winner Niki Terpstra. Turgis will also line up for that team in Antwerp, as will Dries Van Gestel, third in Gent-Wevelgem. AG2R-Citroën are banking on the tandem Van Avermaet-Naesen.

Lotto-Soudal play Campenaerts as leader and, among others, will also be using Vermeersch. With Stefan Küng, Groupama-FDJ will be lining up with the European time trial champion. Sep Vanmarcke will be trying to win with Israel-Premier Tech. Team DSM is relying on John Degenkolb and UNO-X Pro Cycling are looking to Rasmus Tiller.

We just have to wait a few more days for the crown jewel of the spring. Who will be first over the finish line in the Minderbroedersstraat in Oudenaarde and thus succeed Kasper Asgreen? We will know on 3 April at around 16:45.

Check the list here

Related news