Kopecky and Van der Poel looking for records

Kopecky and Van der Poel looking for records

Road  21/03/2024

With Lotte Kopecky and Mathieu van der Poel, this year the Tour of Flanders can welcome two world champions. Antwerp and Oudenaarde, as well as the Dorpen van de Ronde and by extension the Flemish Ardennes, are gearing up for the biggest Flemish cycling festival of the year on Sunday 31 March.

After two consecutive victories in the Tour of Flanders, Lotte Kopecky currently shares the record of most wins in Flanders’ Finest with Mirjam Melchers-Van Poppel, Judith Arndt and Annemiek van Vleuten, all of whom have won the race twice. A third win in a row would put the world champion at the top of the tree and make her the only record holder. To succeed in this, she will have to get past the cream of the women’s peloton on 31 March.

Participants Women Elite

Joining Kopecky in Team SD Worx - Protime in Oudenaarde will be Reusser, Vollering and Wiebes, on paper the team to beat. With Longo Borghini, Balsamo, Brand, Deignan and Van Anrooij, Lidl - Trek are also bringing a strong team to the race. Team Visma | Lease a Bike is counting on the experience of Marianne Vos, who won the opening classic earlier this season. World cyclo-cross champion Fem van Empel will also appear at the start in Oudenaarde. At Canyon//SRAM Racing, they are counting on Niewiadoma, Backstedt and Dygert. Furthermore, the duo Persico-Consonni (UAE Team ADQ) is also on the provisional start list.

Participants Men Elite

In the men’s race, the reigning world champion can also set a record. A third win would put Mathieu van der Poel on the same number of wins as Buysse, Magni, Leman, Museeuw, Boonen and Cancellara. That would mean that Van der Poel who, according to the provisional start list, will be joined in Antwerp by Philipsen, has to defeat Team Visma | Lease a Bike. Wout van Aert seeks his first win in Flanders' Finest. Joined by European champion Christophe Laporte, Paris-Nice winner Jorgenson, Benoot, Van Baarle and Omloop winner Tratnik, the Dutch formation is perhaps bringing the team to beat. Furthermore, Pedersen leads the charge at Lidl-Trek, supported by Stuyven and Skujins. Girmay and Teunissen join forces again at Intermarché - Wanty. Mohoric (Bahrain Victorious), Bettiol (EF Education - EasyPost), Wellens (UAE Team Emirates), De Lie (Lotto Dstny), Kristoff (Uno-X Mobility) and Trentin (Tudor Pro Cycling Team) will also be present.

Those wishing to follow the Tour of Flanders from the front row can visit one of the official fan zones along the route or in the Dorpen van de Ronde. Here is an overview of the day:

Start & finish
> 8:15 | Men's team presentation - Antwerp Grote Markt
> 10:00 | Start of the Men Elite - Ernest Van Dijckkaai Antwerp
> 11:45 | Women's team presentation - Markt Oudenaarde
> 13:05 | Passage of the Men Elite - Markt Oudenaarde
> 13:25 | Women’s start and first passage - Markt Oudenaarde
> 15:15 | Passage of the Women Elite - Markt Oudenaarde
> 16:30 | Finish of the men's race - Minderbroedersstraat Oudenaarde
> 17:45 | Finish of the women's race - Minderbroedersstraat Oudenaarde

Fan zones
Those who want to see how the races unfold in the heart of the Flemish Ardennes can do so in one of the official fan zones.
> Oude Kwaremont | 10:00 - 19:00
> Paterberg | 10:00 - 19:00
> Koppenberg | 10:00 - 19:00
> Oudenaarde (finish) | 13:00 - 19:00

Dorpen van de Ronde
Those wishing to enjoy the race between the men’s start in Antwerp and the finale in the Flemish Ardennes can visit one of the Dorpen van de Ronde. This year they are:
> Sint-Niklaas
> Hamme
> Haaltert
> Herzele
> Zottegem

Van der Poel in the history books
Read more | Van der Poel in the history books
Join a Link My Ride Tour of Flanders free ride
Read more | Join a Link My Ride Tour of Flanders free ride
Download the Tour of Flanders Official Fan Guide
Read more | Download the Tour of Flanders Official Fan Guide
Follow Tour of Flanders on these broadcasters
Read more | Follow Tour of Flanders on these broadcasters