Topteams ready for Flanders' Finest

23 February 2021

The Tour of Flanders is traditionally one of the highlights of the season for many teams. In addition to the 19 UCI WorldTeams, 6 UCI ProTeams will be at the start of Flanders’ Finest. The winner of the 105th edition of the Ronde will therefore be a rider from one of these 25 participating teams.

Alpecin-Fenix, the team of outgoing winner Mathieu van der Poel, together with Team Arkéa-Samsic were already sure of their participation in the Tour of Flanders thanks to their strong ranking last season. Together with 4 other UCI ProTeams they will compete against the 19 UCI WorldTeams. Besides Jumbo-Visma, the team of last year's runner-up Wout van Aert, INEOS Grenadiers, Astana-Premier Tech, Movistar Team, Cofidis and EF Education-Nippo, the team of the 2019 Italian winner Alberto Bettiol, will also be at the start.

With Deceuninck - Quick-Step, Lotto Soudal and Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux, three Belgian WorldTeams are also fighting for victory. We are also looking forward to the arrival of the French AG2R Citroën Team, with Oliver Naesen and Greg Van Avermaet as Belgian spearheads, Bora - hansgrohe, the team of Peter Sagan who won in 2016, and UAE Team Emirates. The list of WorldTeams is completed by Israel Start-Up Nation, Bahrain Victorious, Team Qhubeka Assos, Team BikeExchange, Team DSM, Groupama - FDJ and Trek-Segafredo, the American team of former world champion Mads Pedersen and Jasper Stuyven.

Finally, 4 UCI ProTeams received a wildcard to participate in the Tour of Flanders. Among them 2 Belgian teams: Bingoal WB and Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise. The 2 other wildcards were given to B&B Hotels P/B KTM and Total Direct Energie, the team of Niki Terpstra. The Dutchman managed to win Flanders’ Finest in 2018.

On Sunday April 4, we will find out who, after Milan-Sanremo, can write his name on the second monument of the cycling season. Which riders will be at the start of the Tour of Flanders will be communicated later on.

Related news