World Champion gets tough competition in Oudenaarde

15 October 2020

World champion Anna van der Breggen, winner in 2018, will be the leader of Boels Dolmans Cycling Team. Together with Gent-Wevelgem winner D'hoore, Dwars door Vlaanderen record holder Pieters and Chantal van den Broek - Blaak, twice third in the Tour of Flanders in the past, she can count on a strong team. 

The competition comes from Mitchelton-Scott where Van Vleuten joins forces with De Brabantse Pijl winner Brown and Amanda Spratt at Mitchelton-Scott. Another strong selection can be found at Trek-Segafredo. With Deignan, Longo Borghini and Van Dijk there are no less than 3 ex-winners at the start for Trek-Segafredo. 

Also at Team Sunweb we see a former winner on the provisional list. Rivera was the best in 2017 and will get the support of Lippert and Mackaij, the numbers 2 and 3 from De Brabantse Pijl. CCC-Liv can count on Marianne Vos who won Flanders' Finest in 2013 and will start Sunday together with the South African Moolman-Pasio in search of a second victory. And Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig will wear number one for FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope.

Furthermore we find Niewiadoma, Cromwell and Klein on the preliminary starting list at Canyon//SRAM Racing. Also Belgian champion Lotte Kopecky (Lotto Soudal Ladies), 2nd in Gent-Wevelgem, is not missing. Just like German champion Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team), 3rd in Flanders Fields last Sunday. 

Download the provisional list of participants here.

A Tour of Flanders for women with a strong field of participants awaits the supporters on Sunday. Let's make it cosy at home, watch the Tour of Flanders on TV and thus enjoy the cycling highlight in Flanders from a safe distance. In Belgium the race can be followed live on Sunday in Sporza on Eén from 16h30 onwards. Find more information about the broadcast here

Related news