Tough competition for Van den Broek - Blaak in Flanders' Finest

29 March 2021

On Sunday April 4 the women's peloton will gather in Oudenaarde for the start of the Tour of Flanders. In addition to defending champion Van den Broek-Blaak, the provisional start list includes many other big names, such as Van Vleuten, D'hoore, Kopecky and Deignan.

Team SD Worx has a strong team at the start. Van den Broek-Blaak, winner in 2020, will have world champion Van der Breggen, D'hoore and Pieters as teammates. The strong block of Trek-Segafredo is also worth looking forward to, as it has three former winners in its team with Deignan, Van Dijk and Longo Borghini. The trio will be supported by cyclo-cross world champion Lucinda Brand and Audrey Cordon-Ragot.

European champion Annemiek van Vleuten, who won in 2011, will wear the number 1 for Movistar Team Women. She will be joined by Denmark's Norsgaard, runner-up in Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Liv Racing is also counting on Belgian champion Lotte Kopecky, who came third in last year's Tour of Flanders, for a strong performance. 

Ale' BTC Ljubljana has Marta Bastianelli, the 2019 winner. Team DSM puts its hopes on the duo Lippert - Mackaij. The ever cheerful Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig is the leader for FDJ Nouvelle - Aquitaine Futuroscope. 

Team BikeExchange also has the Australian Grace Brown on its provisional start list. The winner of De Brabantse Pijl in 2020 will be flanked by her compatriot Sarah Roy. Canyon//SRAM Racing's hopes rest on the shoulders of Hannah Barnes and Katarzyna Niewiadoma. 

In the UCI Women's Continental Teams, we are looking forward to the Jumbo-Visma Women Team, where Marianne Vos will be the lead woman. The experienced Dutchwoman won Flanders’ Finest in 2013 and won Gent-Wevelgem after an exciting bunch sprint yesterday. German champion Lisa Brennauer has to star for Ceratizit - WNT Pro Cycling Team. Check out the entire provisional list, which remains subject to the COVID-19 protocol, below.

On 4 April this strong field of participants will decide on the successor to Chantal van den Broek-Blaak.

Related news