Participants 60th edition Vlaamse Druivenkoers known

28 August 2020

Saturday, Flanders Classics, together with De Sportvrienden Overijse, will kick off its autumn calendar with the Vlaamse Druivenkoers. With no less than the 60th edition of this race in the heart of the Druivenstreek, the race is ready for a jubilee edition. Who will be the successor of Arvid De Kleijn?

Last year's winner, the Dutchman Arvid De Kleijn (Riwal Securitas Cycling Team), will be able to pin number 1 on his back. The Belgian Xandro Meurisse of Circus - Wanty Gobert, who won a year earlier, is also on the provisional list of participants of the 60th edition of the Vlaamse Druivenkoers and forms a strong block together with Jan Bakelants, Aimé De Gendt and Loïc Vliegen, among others. They will compete against 6 UCI WorldTeams who will bring some interesting names to the start. 

On the provisional list of participants we find the names of Ballerini and Sénéchal, earlier this week third in the Bretagne Classic, at Deceunick - Quick-Step. Maes and Wallays will be present at that other Belgian WorldTeam Lotto-Soudal. At Cofidis we are looking forward to seeing Julien Vermote, while UAE Team Emirates also brings its fast men Gaviria and Philipsen to the start of the Druivenkoers. At Bora-Hansgrohe they count on Ackermann and Drucker.

Who knows, the UCI ProTeam Alpecin-Fenix might also have a nice role to play. There Gianni Vermeersch, after his 3rd place last year, will be able to take another shot at victory. He can count on the support of teammate Dries De Bondt.

Next Saturday, on a tough course in and around Overijse, it will be decided who can add this jubilee edition to his palmares. Download the provisional list of participants below.


(c) Hans Deveuster - sportfotos.be

Related news